Paris of the Middle East

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Beirut. That’s where I am at the moment. Well Souk el Gharb to be specific. Less than 20 minutes from Beirut, this suburb in the mountain overlooking the city, is world’s away from the hustle and bustle. Here, flowers of all sorts grow, grapes in the backyard, and pine trees. Visitin’ the in-laws, husband’s cousins, friends and anyone he knows, his dad knows…you get the picture. Busy socializing thus the lack of post. And no I don’t speak Arabic nor French so by socializing I mean smiling, 3 kisses on the cheek (typical lebanese greeting) few words in Arabic and French enough to say “hi, I comein peace.”

So, as opposed to my last post about my typical day in Melbourne whilst visiting my family, my days in Lebanon involves:

Sitting outside the house and chillin’,

20130727-230305.jpg

I love shisha or argileh as they call it here

 

Making the most of the beautiful sunny day,

BBQ

BBQ

20130801-013802.jpg

Yes we use pine cones 🙂

Eating… image

and eating…

image image

And making the most of a beautiful night.

image

I enjoy coming here at night for a hot chocolate when the night is bit chilly. Or a bottle of Lebanese red  and  argileh sesh.

 

And of course, no trip to Lebanon is complete without a visit to the salon…I mean coiffure.

image

About Dolce Diana

| Domestic Goddess in the making | Ex-Flight Attendant Extraordinaire | Expat in Dubai | Fi-Wi | Scorpio | Traveler and Tourist in one | Recovering Shopaholic | Loves Shoes like Imelda | Collector of Memories | Lover of Life |

Posted on May 9, 2013, in Diana Trots the Globe and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. You’re in Lebanon at the moment? I think smiling is a good way to converse! LOL!
    At least its a universal language 🙂

    • yes i am 🙂 and was supposed to visit cavalli cafe, harissa, byblos,,,etc and write posts about them but husband’s uncle fell ill and suddenly died so now is not the time for holiday 😦 perhaps later…thanks for reading my post and ill try to update soon as i can.xo

  1. Pingback: Beirut: Cavalli Cafe | Dolce Diana

  2. Pingback: Cavalli Caffe, Beirut | Dolce Diana

Like my post? Leave a comment

My Teascapades...

For the Love of Tea

Pinay Flying High

a peek into the realms of my twisted mind

i love macaron

good things come in small package

otakushrimp

Get 'em to the Geek

Pinoy Investigador

Spreading financial literacy to every Juan.

Find Me A Break | Travel Blog in Dubai

Where travel, food and entertainment intersect

Diary of a newbie mom's Blog

I’m expat Filipina and welcome to my diary, a mother’s guide to all newbie mom in Dubai!

Where the path leads

A traveller's tales

Merely Mindless Musings

Hopefully, this is more than my incoherent ramblings, but not likely.

BellesOfBeirut

Just Do It Yourself

Will Do the Dishes

"You make dinner, I'll do the dishes"

Never Too Sweet

Desserts, Cooking and Travelling

Kish in the Gulf

The day to day life of a Manila girl in Dubai

sweetlittleabudhabi.wordpress.com/

Hush hush! Sweet Little Abu Dhabi shares with you the best addresses in Abu Dhabi, handpicked and tested by our team with love.